Tag Archives: Matt Graff

Recording Update #4

* Note: I’m no longer calling these a “Milestone”…just simply an update *

Looks as if we are finished recording “Obvious Mistake”.  We decided to go back and re-record all guitar and bass parts.  Worked out for the better becuase I think everyone is very happy with how it came out.  Now we just have to have Chris put his vocals into it and we’re ready to send it off…or do whatever with it.

I believe we are also finished with “Bring Me A Reason”.  The only think left to record from our end is the guitar solo.

“Selling Out For You” is being worked on this week along with “So Much To Me” (at least I think we’re going to attempt that one this week).  We are planning on doing “So Much To Me” acoustically which would keep it true to the way we recorded it for the demo.  Plus we don’t have to pay for a drummer to record it…win win.  Should be great though!

I’ll post a sneak peak of what “Obvious Mistake” sounds like before the vocals.


Sneak peak of our recording session tonight. You can hear Graff’s picking in the background. Not even sure what we are keeping in the track but here ya go…a short clip of “Bring Me A Reason”.

Sneak peak of our recording session tonight. You can hear Graff’s picking in the background. Not even sure what we are keeping in the track but here ya go…a short clip of “Bring Me A Reason”.

Recording Milestone #3

I’m starting on #3 because I can’t very well go back in time to tell myself to start at #1.  Anyway, this weekend we were able to lay down all of my Electric tracks for “Obvious Mistake”, as well as the acoustic tracks (for atmosphere and filler) on Saturday.  Yesterday (Sunday) we had Jeremy come over to lay down his bass track and I believe that is just about where we want it.  We will give it another listen tonight and see if we can give it a nice sounding effect.  Hopefully when Graff records his Electric track the song will sound like an actual song.  It’s getting there though!

After this song is complete from our end we will send it to Chris so he can do his vocals.  Then I’d imagine he will send it back to us and we will listen to it until we are blue in the face trying to find mistakes and re-record until we are happy with all of it.

Next song on the list will be either “Selling Out For You” or “Bring Me A Reason”.  Doesn’t matter which we do first because we pretty much know what we’re going to do for those songs as we have played them for quite some time.  ”Obvious Mistake” is a newer one for us so we took that one on first.

I’m just looking forward to the finished product because every band I have been a part of gets to this point and never finishes the album.  Difference here is we all are into the music…and we are recording it ourselves.  But don’t worry…we’ve got Pro equipment…so no garage-style recordings for us!  We’re selling out from the get-go.  Maybe one day we will get to put out an over-produced Nickelback style album.  Until then it’s gonna be us putting out a modest yet great sounding album that we did ourselves…and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Milestone #4 coming up…Matt Graff’s “Obvious Mistake” track.

Aftermath of the ‘Tonic’ Opening Experience

Last Saturday (8.15.09) one of the bands I play in called ‘Sunset Love Affair’ was fortunate enough to open up for the band ‘Tonic’. This was a pretty cool experience because I have been a huge fan of ‘Tonic’ for quite a few years. I would put them in my top 10 favorite bands of all-time. I’m sure some of the other guys in the band felt the same way as I did about the show.

Overall the show went very well. We had a full band consisting of the core members of SLA (Chris, Matt Graff, and myself), as well as Jeremy on bass, and Gabe on drums. Technically it was The Red Tide Saga but billed as Sunset Love Affair. We played a pretty diverse mix of music ranging from Alternative Rock to Ska to even a Pop-ish Ballad. We video taped the whole entire show and it is available on YouTube and if you feel like collecting all of the videos in the order that we played them in, here is the setlist:
1) Of Stars & Stone
2) 4 Shots
3) Bring Me A Reason
4) My Later Tonight
5) Path
6) Selling Out For You
7) Only Heaven Knows Her Name
8) So Much To Me
9) Paranoia
10) Buffet Line
11) Untitled
12) Touch The Sky
13) Stroking 5th
I think it was quite an amazing set list and quite possibly the best one we have ever played. “Bring Me A Reason” was added at the last minute (about 1 hour before the show). We were going to play “Obvious Mistake” but we tossed that out of the setlist and replaced it with “Paranoia”. We weren’t quite sure how the crowd would respond to “Paranoia” but after playing it we received a ton of comments about the song and it proved to be a positive decision.

Right now we are getting ready for a show in Macon, GA on 8.29.09, which is usually a good time for us. A few of our best friends/fans are from the area and they always come back home to show support. We are continuing to try to book shows and we are all excited to see what the future will hold and hope another opportunity like the ‘Tonic’ experience comes our way.

I will leave you with a few videos from our performance the other night…enjoy!

Also check out the other videos from the performance as well as any other videos I have uploaded…go here: http://www.youtube.com/mbannis1